ST EDMUNDSBURY BOROUGH COUNCIL

MAYORAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

<u>Minutes of a meeting held on Monday 14 February 2011 at 5.00 pm</u> in Room GFR12, West Suffolk House, Western Way, Bury St Edmunds

PRESENT: Councillor J R Hale (Chairman), Councillors Aitkens, Mrs Bone, Mrs Charlesworth, Farmer, Griffiths and Nettleton

<u>1. Election of Chairman</u>

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor J R Hale be elected Chairman of this Mayoral Advisory Committee.

2. Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies for absence.

3. Minutes

The Committee Services Manager informed the Committee that 'him' should replace 'her' in the final sentence of the resolution in Minute 5.

Subject to the above amendment, the minutes of the meeting held on 26 January 2010 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

4. Date of Next Meeting

It was agreed that the Committee would next meet on Monday 14 March 2011 at 4.00 pm.

EXEMPT INFORMATION - EXCLUSION OF PUBLIC

RESOLVED:-

That under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12(A) of the Act.

5. Mayoralty: 2011/2012

The Committee was informed that the current Mayor, Councillor Ian Houlder, did not wish to become Deputy Mayor in the 2011/2012 civic year. Therefore, the Committee considered nominations for the selection of a Member of the Council for the office of Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the Borough for 2011/2012, and it was

RESOLVED:- That

- (1) Councillor Christopher James Evan Spicer be nominated for election as Mayor for 2011/2012 and his name be formally submitted to the Annual Meeting of the Council on 19 May 2011, subject to him formally consenting to such nomination; and
- (2) Councillor be nominated for election as Deputy Mayor for 2011/2012 and his name be formally submitted to the Annual Meeting of the Council on 19 May 2011, subject to him formally consenting to such nomination.

The meeting concluded at 4.53 pm.

CHAIRMAN