Committee details


Purpose of committee

West Suffolk Council comprises 64 district councillors who have been elected to represent the 43 wards in the district.  You can find out who your district councillor is on the Councillors pages. It is made up as follows:


Composition of Council

Conservative Group



The Independent Group

(13 x Independents, 7 x West Suffolk Independents and 1 Green)


Labour Group









(Correct as at 31 January 2020)


All Councillors meet together as the Council.  The Council is chaired by the Chair and neither the Chair nor the Vice-Chair has any Cabinet responsibilities.  Meetings of the Council are normally open to the public.  There are certain things the law says only the full Council can decide.  Other matters are decided by the Cabinet (or its individual Portfolio Holders) or by Committees.


Contact information

Support officer: Claire Skoyles: Democratic Services Officer. Email: