Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Richard Alecock

Councillor Richard Alecock

16 Flemington Close, Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP28 7FB

Home: 01638 711949

Home mobile: 07523 854564

Work: richard.alecock@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Mildenhall Great Heath
photo of Councillor Michael Anderson

Councillor Michael Anderson

Councillor Michael Anderson, (Care of) West Suffolk Counil, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01638 601624

Home mobile: 07767 476817

Work: michael.anderson@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(The Independent Group)
Newmarket North
photo of Councillor John Augustine

Councillor John Augustine

Councillor John Augustine, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07527 567885

Work: john.augustine@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Westgate
photo of Councillor Trevor Beckwith

Councillor Trevor Beckwith

1 Salter Close, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 7EQ

Home: 01284 703894

Home mobile: 07776 157729

Work: trevor.beckwith@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Moreton Hall
photo of Councillor Mick Bradshaw

Councillor Mick Bradshaw

Councillor Mick Bradshaw, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: mick.bradshaw@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(The Independent Group)
Iceni
photo of Councillor Sarah Broughton

Councillor Sarah Broughton

Portfolio Holder for Resources and Performance

The Manor House, Church Road, Great Barton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 2QR

Home: 01284 787327

Home mobile: 07929 305787

Work: sarah.broughton@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
The Fornhams & Great Barton
photo of Councillor Simon Brown

Councillor Simon Brown

22 Thomas Close, Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 2UQ

Home: 01359 233150

Home mobile: 07793 145909

Work: simon.brown@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Pakenham & Troston
photo of Councillor Tony (Anthony) Brown

Councillor Tony (Anthony) Brown

5 Minerva Close, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 0NF

Home: 01440 761375

Home mobile: 07973 333315

Work: tony.brown@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Haverhill South East
photo of Councillor Carol Bull

Councillor Carol Bull

Portfolio Holder for Governance

Fen Stables, Nethergate Street, Hopton, Diss, Norfolk, IP22 2QZ

Home: 01953 681513

Home mobile: 07767 472419

Work: carol.bull@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Barningham
photo of Councillor John Burns

Councillor John Burns

10 Kingfisher Close, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 0JW

Home: 01440 762994

Home mobile: 07802 301650

Work: john.burns@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Haverhill East
photo of Councillor Mike (Michael) Chester

Councillor Mike (Michael) Chester

The Old Forge, The Street, Chedburgh, Bury St Edmunds, IP29 4UH

Home: 01284 850000

Home mobile: 07966 156511

Work: mike.chester@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Chedburgh & Chevington
photo of Councillor Patrick (Hung Chow) Chung

Councillor Patrick (Hung Chow) Chung

8 Chichester Close, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP33 2LZ

Home: 01284 761120

Home mobile: 07802 751433

Work: patrick.chung@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Southgate
photo of Councillor Max Clarke

Councillor Max Clarke

2 Summers Road, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 6SF

Home mobile: 07470 008206

Work: max.clarke@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour Group)
St. Olaves
photo of Councillor Terry (Terence) Clements

Councillor Terry (Terence) Clements

Olivers Barn, Donkey Lane, Stanningfield, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP29 4RA

Home: 01284 827161

Home mobile: 07960 760880

Work: terry.clements@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Horringer
photo of Councillor Simon Cole

Councillor Simon Cole

Vice-Chair of Overview and Scrutiny

Councillor Simon Cole, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: simon.cole@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Exning
photo of Councillor Jason Crooks

Councillor Jason Crooks

2 Little Low Cottages, Brinkley Road, Carlton, Newmarket, CB8 9JX

Home: 01223 290853

Home mobile: 07527 901931

Work: jason.crooks@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Haverhill South
photo of Councillor Dawn Dicker

Councillor Dawn Dicker

4 Daisy Court, Red Lodge, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP28 8GB

Home: 01638 750392

Home mobile: 07745 891145

Work: dawn.dicker@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(The Independent Group)
Iceni
photo of Councillor Roger Dicker

Councillor Roger Dicker

Kentford Village Stores, 45 Moulton Avenue, Kentford, Newmarket, Suffolk, CB8 8QX

Home: 01638 750392

Home mobile: 07734 869873

Work: roger.dicker@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(The Independent Group)
Kentford & Moulton
photo of Councillor Andy (Andrew) Drummond

Councillor Andy (Andrew) Drummond

Portfolio Holder for Regulatory

Heathside, Kennett Road, Herringswell, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP28 6SS

Work: 01638 666888

Home: 01638 751411

Home mobile: 07710 027343

Work: andy.drummond@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Newmarket West
photo of Councillor Mary (Alison) Evans

Councillor Mary (Alison) Evans

Old Village Hall, Lower Street, Stansfield, Sudbury, CO10 8LP

Home: 01284 789478

Home mobile: 07970 187864

Work: mary.evans@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Whepstead & Wickhambrook
photo of Councillor Robert Everitt

Councillor Robert Everitt

Portfolio Holder for Families and Communities

17 Barn Lane, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP33 1YH

Home: 01284 769000

Work: robert.everitt@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Minden
photo of Councillor Stephen Frost

Councillor Stephen Frost

9 Meadow Drive, Lakenheath, Suffolk, IP27 9JG

Home mobile: 07710 436672

Work: stephen.frost@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Lakenheath
photo of Councillor David Gathercole

Councillor David Gathercole

Beaver Lodge, Sedge Fen, Lakenheath, IP27 9LQ

Home: 01353 675355

Work: david.gathercole@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Lakenheath
photo of Councillor Susan Glossop

Councillor Susan Glossop

Portfolio Holder for Growth

Willow Tree Cottage, 8-9 Bury Road, Flempton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP28 6EG

Home: 01284 728377

Home mobile: 07473041394

Work: susan.glossop@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Risby
photo of Councillor John Griffiths MBE

Councillor John Griffiths MBE

Leader of the Council

Councillor John Griffiths MBE, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07958 700434

Work: john.griffiths@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Ixworth
photo of Councillor Patrick (Pat) Hanlon

Councillor Patrick (Pat) Hanlon

Councillor Pat Hanlon, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: pat.hanlon@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour Group)
Haverhill East
photo of Councillor Brian Harvey

Councillor Brian Harvey

Chair of the West Suffolk Council

Councillor Brian Harvey, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01638 515722

Home mobile: 07801 472461

Work: brian.harvey@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Manor
photo of Councillor Diane Hind

Councillor Diane Hind

Labour Group Leader

9 Appledown Drive, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 7HG

Home: 01284 706542

Home mobile: 07890 198957

Work: diane.hind@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour Group)
Tollgate
photo of Councillor Rachel Hood

Councillor Rachel Hood

55 Bury Road, Newmarket, Suffolk, CB8 7BY

Home mobile: 07713 211555

Work: rachel.hood@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Newmarket East
photo of Councillor Beccy (Rebecca) Hopfensperger

Councillor Beccy (Rebecca) Hopfensperger

c/o West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Western Way, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07876 683516

Work: rebecca.hopfensperger@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Home: beccy@hopfensperger.me.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
The Fornhams & Great Barton
photo of Councillor Paul Hopfensperger

Councillor Paul Hopfensperger

Councillor Paul Hopfensperger, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01284 756444

Work: paul.hopfensperger@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
St. Olaves
photo of Councillor Ian Houlder

Councillor Ian Houlder

Chair of Performance and Audit Scrutiny

Highfields, 9 Mill Lane, Barrow, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP29 5BS

Home mobile: 07597 961069

Work: ian.houlder@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Barrow
photo of Councillor Lisa Ingwall King

Councillor Lisa Ingwall King

Councillor Lisa Ingwall King, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: lisa.ingwall-king@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Green Party
(Spectrum Group)
Abbeygate
photo of Councillor James (Winston) Lay

Councillor James (Winston) Lay

Councillor James Lay, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01638 552488

Home mobile: 07703 434031

Work: james.lay@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Newmarket West
photo of Councillor Aaron Luccarini

Councillor Aaron Luccarini

Councillor Aaron Luccarini, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: aaron.luccarini@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Haverhill Central
photo of Councillor Victor Lukaniuk

Councillor Victor Lukaniuk

3 Hellesdon Court, High Street, Brandon, Suffolk, IP27 0BJ

Home mobile: 07850 984500

Work: victor.lukaniuk@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(Spectrum Group)
Brandon Central
photo of Councillor Margaret Marks

Councillor Margaret Marks

Vice-Chair of West Suffolk Council

Walnut Brook, Withersfield Road, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 7RN

Home: 01440 713443

Home mobile: 07890 037630

Work: margaret.marks@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Haverhill West
photo of Councillor Joe (Joseph) Mason

Councillor Joe (Joseph) Mason

Councillor Joe Mason, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01440 760821

Home mobile: 07830 074703

Work: joe.mason@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Haverhill North
photo of Councillor Elaine McManus

Councillor Elaine McManus

2 Gurlings Close, Haverhill, CB9 0EG

Home: 01440 761018

Home mobile: 07787 703631

Work: elaine.mcmanus@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Haverhill North
photo of Councillor Jim (James) Meikle

Councillor Jim (James) Meikle

Councillor Jim Meikle, (care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01787 282509

Home mobile: 07894 078723

Work: jim.meikle@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Clare, Hundon & Kedington
photo of Councillor Sara Mildmay-White

Councillor Sara Mildmay-White

Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Housing

Chantry Cottage, Almshouse Road, Rougham, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP30 9JW

Home: 01359 270580

Work: sara.mildmay-white@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Rougham
photo of Councillor Robin Millar

Councillor Robin Millar

42 Barry Lynham Drive, Newmarket, Suffolk, CB8 8YT

Home mobile: 07545 423782

Work: robin.millar@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Newmarket North
photo of Councillor Andy (Andrew) Neal

Councillor Andy (Andrew) Neal

Councillo Andy Neal, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07884 493292

Work: andy.neal@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Mildenhall Queensway
photo of Councillor David Nettleton

Councillor David Nettleton

Spectrum Group Leader / Chair of Overview and Scrutiny

3 Cadney Lane, Cannon Street, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP33 1JP

Home: 01284 702212

Work: david.nettleton@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(Spectrum Group)
Tollgate
photo of Councillor Robert Nobbs

Councillor Robert Nobbs

Councillor Robert Nobbs, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, College Heath Road, Mildenhall, IP28 7EY

Home mobile: 07977 035624

Work: robert.nobbs@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Newmarket East
photo of Councillor David Palmer

Councillor David Palmer

2 Walton Way, Brandon, Suffolk, IP27 0HP

Home: 01842 812569

Home mobile: 07539 285975

Work: david.palmer@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(Spectrum Group)
Brandon West
photo of Councillor Jo (Joanna) Rayner

Councillor Jo (Joanna) Rayner

Portfolio Holder for Leisure, Culture and Community Hubs

Councillor Joanna Rayner, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01284 750366

Home mobile: 07872 456836

Work: joanna.rayner@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Abbeygate
photo of Councillor Karen Richardson

Councillor Karen Richardson

Vice-Chair of Performance and Audit Scrutiny

Sparrow's Cottage, The Street, Great Wratting, Suffolk, CB9 7HQ

Home mobile: 07756 489726

Work: karen.richardson@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Clare, Hundon & Kedington
photo of Councillor David Roach

Councillor David Roach

Portfolio Holder for Local Plan Development and Delivery

37 Bumpstead Road, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 8QA

Home: 01440 768966

Home mobile: 07889 510003

Work: david.roach@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Haverhill West
photo of Councillor Richard Rout

Councillor Richard Rout

17 Chancellery Mews, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP33 3AB

Home mobile: 07711 133422

Work: richard.rout@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Westgate
photo of Councillor Marion Rushbrook

Councillor Marion Rushbrook

17 Dane Close, Kedington, Haverhill, Suffolk, OB9 7NX

Home: 01440 704229

Home mobile: 07795 391938

Work: marion.rushbrook@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Clare, Hundon & Kedington
photo of Councillor Ian Shipp

Councillor Ian Shipp

The Independent Group Leader

28 Bridewell Close, Mildenhall, Suffolk, IP28 7RB

Home mobile: 07368 134769

Work: ian.shipp@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Mildenhall Kingsway & Market
photo of Councillor Andrew Smith

Councillor Andrew Smith

Lavender Barn, Bowbeck, Bardwell, Bury St Edmunds, IP31 1BA

Home: 01359 221948

Home mobile: 07801 661944

Work: andrew.smith@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Bardwell
photo of Councillor David Smith

Councillor David Smith

19A Cleved Road, Haverhill, Suffolk, CB9 9PL

Home: 01440 703603

Home mobile: 07796 245093

Work: david.smith@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour Group)
Haverhill South
photo of Councillor John Smith

Councillor John Smith

Horseferry Lodge, West Row, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP28 8PE

Home: 01638 716292

Home mobile: 07543 249615

Work: john.smith@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
The Rows
photo of Councillor Clive Springett

Councillor Clive Springett

Councillor Clive Springett, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Work: 01277 326384

Home: 01284 753120

Home mobile: 07802 194566

Work: clive.springett@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Minden
photo of Councillor Peter Stevens

Councillor Peter Stevens

Portfolio Holder for Operations

Point Cottage, High Street, Cavendish, Suffolk, CO10 8AT

Home: 01787 280284

Home mobile: 07775 877000

Work: peter.stevens@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Withersfield
photo of Councillor Peter Thompson

Councillor Peter Thompson

4 Kembold Close, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 7EF

Home mobile: 07810 868986

Work: peter.thompson@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Moreton Hall
photo of Councillor Jim (John) Thorndyke

Councillor Jim (John) Thorndyke

23 Fordhams Close, Stanton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 2EE

Home: 01359 250271

Home mobile: 07792 224669

Work: jim.thorndyke@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Stanton
photo of Councillor Don (Donald) Waldron

Councillor Don (Donald) Waldron

Councillor Don Waldron, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home: 01638 810208

Work mobile: 07939 626634

Work: don.waldron@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
The Rows
photo of Councillor Frank (Francis) Warby

Councillor Frank (Francis) Warby

204 Raedwald Drive, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 7DW

Home: 01284 704138

Home mobile: 07818 455472

Work: frank.warby@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Moreton Hall
photo of Councillor Cliff (Clifford) Waterman

Councillor Cliff (Clifford) Waterman

C/O West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Western Way, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07580 431806

Work: cliff.waterman@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour Group)
Eastgate
photo of Councillor Ann Williamson

Councillor Ann Williamson

Councillor Ann Williamson, (Care of) West Suffolk Council, West Suffolk House, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3YU

Home mobile: 07824 341946

Work: ann.williamson@westsuffolk.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative Group)
Southgate
photo of Councillor Phil (Philip) Wittam

Councillor Phil (Philip) Wittam

Home: 01842 550141

Home mobile: 07827 392088

Work: phil.wittam@westsuffolk.gov.uk

West Suffolk Independents
(Spectrum Group)
Brandon East